Westminster College Award Presented to John D. Hopkins

Westminster College Award Presented to John D. Hopkins

Westminster College, Fulton, Missouri — April 21, 2001

John D. Hopkins, Lecturer in American Language and Culture and Coordinator of the FAST Area Studies Program at the University of Tampere, Finland, has been honored with the Westminster College Alumni Achievement Award at ceremonies marking the 150th anniversary of the college. The award, considered the highest honor Westminster can bestow upon its graduates, is given for outstanding career accomplishment. Hopkins was cited for noteworthy achievement in International Education, American Studies, and the deployment of Information and Communications Technologies (ICT) in European higher education.

Leadership positions and distinctions for which he was cited included 12 years on the Board of Directors of the Finland-United States Educational Exchange Commission and the Board Chairmanship of the Washington-based International Student Exchange Program (ISEP). He is the only non-U.S. resident ever to be elected to the Board of Directors of the U.S. NAFSA: Association of International Educators, and the only person ever to chair the ICT administrative and policy units of both NAFSA and the European Association for International Education, the two largest international education membership associations worldwide. He founded the FAST Area Studies Program in 1992, having previously been co-founder in 1983 of the Tampere University American Studies Program. He has spoken and been published widely throughout Europe and the United States in American Studies, International Education, and the application of new technologies in higher education, and is also known for the organization and administration of international conferences in these fields.

Westminster College, founded in 1851 as one of the first higher education institutions west of the Mississippi River, enjoys a reputation as one of the leading liberal arts colleges in the Midwest. The site of Sir Winston Churchill's famed "Sinews of Peace" address in 1946, it is the home of the Churchill Memorial and restored 16th-century Christopher Wren Chapel of St. Mary, the Virgin, Aldermanbury, in which the awards were presented.

John Hopkins was one of six Westminster alumni to receive the Alumni Achievement Award, the others being James Clarkson '62, Johnson Ho '75, Joseph Marting '69, Drennon Stringer '55 and Robert Stufflebam '54. He was nominated for the award by Westminster emeritus professors Christian and Elizabeth Hauer, and presented at the awards ceremony by Reverend Russell Viehmann, Vice-President of Webster University.

Hopkins, son of the late Woodard B. and Erna Rowe Hopkins of Boonville, Missouri, is a 1969 Westminster graduate. He has taught at the University of Tampere since 1973. His wife Maritta is a lecturer in the University of Tampere Language Center. John and Maritta reside in Tampere, Finland, and have two grown children, Brian and Christina.

(L-R): James Clarkson, Johnson Ho, John Hopkins, Joseph Marting, Drennon Stringer, Robert Stufflebam

(L-R): Board of Trustees Chair William Bennett, Russell Viehmann, John Hopkins, Westminster President Fletcher Lamkin

Background on John D. Hopkins   —   More Award Photos